Home Home Contact Us Register MyIIA Privacy Sitemap

Certification FAQs

What are the Steps to Certification in internal auditing?

Step 1: Decide Which Certification Is Right for You

You have the choice of taking the CIA® or one of the specialist certifications, depending on your career focus, your skill level and your eligibility. Each certification program has a self-study component, study materials, sample questions and an examination administered by Computer Based Testing (CBT).

Step 2: Determine Your Eligibility and Skill Level

Each of the IIA-Australia certification programs has specific entry criteria and eligibility requirements that a candidate must meet to take the exam. In addition, you may want to assess your skill level by taking a practice test using the sample questions. Your score on the practice test will allow you to assess your readiness and areas for improvement.

Step 3: Register for the Exam and Pay Fee(s)

You will need to formally register for the CIA® or specialist certification exam, providing a character reference and verification of your experience or alternatively your student status.  The IIA-Australia's certification exams are now offered through computer-based testing, year-round at more than 500 locations worldwide.

Step 4: Prepare for the Exam

You are responsible for determining the method(s) in which you need to prepare for the exam. We provide you with a list of available study support resources for your consideration.

Step 5: Take the Test

With the transition to computer-based testing (CBT), the Institute's certification exams are administered through the worldwide network of Pearson VUE Testing Centers.

Step 6: Receive Your Certificate

Once you have passed the exam and met all other program requirements, your certificate will be presented to you.

Are exemptions available in the CIA® program?

There is no opportunity to obtain an exemption or professional recognition credit for the new 2013 CIA three-part program. With the reduction in parts from four parts to three parts in the new exam structure, The IIA has eliminated the recognition credit provision previously applicable to Part 4. Candidates must now sit all three exam parts. 

More information
arrow  PRC: List of exemptions